The 2nd Asia Parks Congress will be held in a hybrid format at the Sabah Convention Centre in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, on the 24-29 May 2022, and will feature six thematic groups:
• Nature-based solutions for health and wellbeing
• Governance of protected and conserved areas
• Connectivity and transboundary conservation
• Effective protected and conserved areas
• Economic and financial sustainability of protected and conserved areas
• Urban conservation and a new generation

Representatives from protected area authorities, other government agencies, NGOs, academia, youth, the private sector, Indigenous peoples and local communities are invited to participate the congress. For registration, please visit .
This Congress will be a landmark event, which is expected to attract conservation experts from across Asia and beyond, and to set the agenda for the region’s protected and conserved areas for the next 10 years. The Congress is being organised in collaboration with IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature and the IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA). It is being hosted by the State Government of Sabah through the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Environment and its agency, Sabah Parks.

Sabah has re-opened its borders to international travellers effective 1st April 2022. The standard operation procedures and entry requirements can be referred to on:

About Sabah Parks
Sabah Parks is a conservation-based statutory body established in 1964 with the purpose of conserving the scenic, scientific and historic heritage of the state of Sabah, Malaysia, on the island of Borneo. The organisation is also responsible for the management and promotion of the various protected reserves in Sabah, in particular those designated as state parks. It is also mandated to develop tourism-friendly facilities to accommodate tourist arrivals to these reserves and ensure that the state of the reserves is not compromised. The first choice for inclusion in a park system was Mount Kinabalu. As a result, Kinabalu Park was gazetted in 1964, and today it is designated as the first Malaysia World Heritage Site. For more information, please visit .

About IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature
IUCN is a membership Union composed of both government and civil society organisations. It harnesses the experience, resources and reach of its more than 1,500 Member organisations and the input of more than 18,000 experts. IUCN is the global authority on the status of the natural world and the measures needed to safeguard it. For more information, please visit .

About the IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA)
IUCN’s World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA) is the world’s premier network of expertise on protected and conserved areas, and one of IUCN’s six Commissions with more than 3,000 members, spanning 140 countries. The Commission convenes a diverse constituency of volunteer experts, governments, Indigenous partners and civil society organisations to strengthen the management of protected and conserved areas, including their contribution as natural solutions to address global environmental challenges such as climate change and disaster risk reduction. WCPA works by providing strategic advice to policy makers and practitioners to help strengthen capacity and investment in protected areas and OECMs. For more information, please visit: .


Wednesday, April 27, 2022

Other News